IAE Academy
FREE GUIDENEWListed 19 October 2026 · Updated 19 Oct 2026

Power and Electrical Companies: Student Programmes

Programmes as Hitachi Energy, Larsen & Toubro, CESC and Torrent Power listed them on 19 October 2026. L&T, CESC and Torrent Power describe campus recruitment with no steps to apply; ask your placement cell. One Hitachi trainee posting wants Electrical & Electronics Engineering.

Updated 19 October 2026

Programmes for students and graduates, as the companies listed them on 19 October 2026

Programmes for students and graduates, as the companies listed them on 19 October 2026
Company and programmeWho can applyWhenHow to apply
Hitachi Energy: Global Power+ Graduate Development Program (India is a listed location)Open to candidates with STEM backgrounds; applicants from other disciplines are also considered. India is one of the listed locations. The page does not say who qualifies by degree level or graduation year, and gives application periods only on a linked page, so check that page before planning. Hitachi Energy's early-career page also says it recruits across engineering (electrical, mechanical, systems, software) and other functions, and that STEM backgrounds are most in demand for technical roles.Length, not an application window: the programme is 18 months long, in three six-month rotational assignments. Application periods and start dates by country are on a separate page the company links to.The programme page says to visit the jobs page to find graduate programs available in your home country. For the steps, Hitachi Energy's India recruitment page says to open the listing on its open jobs search page and fill in an online application form, which involves uploading your CV or resume. It says a CV or resume is highly encouraged but not required. It gives these steps for its jobs in general.
Hitachi Energy: South Asia early graduate program (India)The page describes an early graduate program running in the India Operating Center, in Business Unit Transformers and High Voltage Products. It does not say who can apply.Not stated on the source pagesThe page says to visit the jobs page to find graduate programs available in your home country.
Hitachi Energy: InternshipsThe internship lines quoted do not name India, and do not say whether internships are paid. All majors are welcome to apply. The profile is predominantly a bachelor's and/or master's degree; in some countries internships are also open to undergraduate students or high school pupils from technical or industrial programs.Length only: internships run from 2 weeks to 12 months, depending on country and role. The text quoted does not name India.Hitachi Energy's India recruitment page lists internship work among what is available. It gives the same steps as for its other jobs: open the listing on its open jobs search page and fill in an online application form, which involves uploading your CV or resume. It says a CV or resume is highly encouraged but not required.
Larsen & Toubro: Graduate Engineer Trainees (GETs), campus recruitmentL&T says it wants to turn fresh graduate engineers into future leaders, and that each year it visits India's premier engineering and management institutions. GETs is one of its trainee categories. The page names no branch or marks cut-off, so Electrical Engineering is not named. The page describes this route through campus visits; it gives no way to apply on your own and does not list which campuses.Not stated on the source pagesL&T says it visits more than 150 campuses looking for engineering talent. The page quoted gives no application link or steps.
CESC Limited (Kolkata): Campus recruitmentYoung students are recruited from reputed Engineering Institutes and B-schools from all across the country. The page names no branch, so Electrical Engineering is not named.Not stated on the source pagesCESC prints no way to apply for campus recruitment. Its careers page has a Submit Your Resume link but does not say the link is for campus recruitment. It warns the public about fraudulent job offers and says it is not responsible for job adverts on any website other than its own.
CESC Limited (Kolkata): Unmesh internshipA special internship programme named 'Unmesh' is for students from reputed Engineering Institutes. The page names no branch, year of study or marks, and does not say whether Unmesh is paid.Not stated on the source pagesThe Unmesh internship text names no application steps. CESC warns the public about fraudulent job offers.
Torrent Power: Campus recruitment, Graduate Engineer TraineesThe page lists Campus Recruitment under Engineer Graduates, for Graduate Engineer Trainees. It names no branch, marks or year. The pages quoted name operations in Ahmedabad, Surat, Gandhinagar and Bhiwandi; no West Bengal location is named, and the page does not say where trainees are posted.Not stated on the source pagesThe page names no steps for campus recruitment. For its jobs in general, it says you can apply online by submitting your resume for a specific profile; it does not say trainee places are filled this way.

Source: Each company's own careers pages, listed under Sources.

Skills and roles named on the programme pages

Skills and roles named on the programme pages
Company and programmeSkills asked
Hitachi Energy: Global Power+ Graduate Development Program (India is a listed location)The programme lines name featured assignments, not skills asked of applicants: quality engineering, software engineering, consulting, sales, manufacturing operations, project engineering, and many more.

Source: Each company's own careers pages, listed under Sources.

How each company says it selects

How each company says it selects
CompanyWhat the company says
Hitachi EnergyFor all its India hiring, not for trainees only: Hitachi Energy's India recruitment page says to expect multiple stages, including initial screenings and interviews. Depending on the role and location there might be technical screens, assessments and background checks. The interview process typically includes an initial phone or video screen, followed by one or more in-depth interviews with team members and hiring managers. The company's goal is to give feedback within 14 days; it does not state this as a guarantee.
Larsen & ToubroL&T says the selection process covers an online test of domain knowledge and cognitive aptitude, a personal interview and a medical examination.
CESC LimitedCESC says interns who perform well during the Unmesh internship are extended pre-placement offers to join on completing their graduation. It names no selection steps for the internship or for campus recruitment, and the page does not say how to get an internship.
Torrent PowerNot stated on the source pages

Source: Each company's own careers pages, listed under Sources.

A selection of postings for students and recent graduates, as the companies listed them on 19 October 2026

A selection of postings for students and recent graduates, as the companies listed them on 19 October 2026
PostingWho can applyWhen
Hitachi Energy: Management Trainee posting, BengaluruThe posting asks for Fresh BTECH in Electrical & Electronics Engineering. It is listed as Entry Level, full time, on-site, Contract Trainee, in Bengaluru, Karnataka, India. The posting states no length or pay, and names no instrumentation branch.Published 12 February 2026, over eight months before this page's listing date, and still listed on that date. Check the listing before you apply.

Source: Each company's own careers pages, listed under Sources.

Sources

Sources
SourceLink
Early Career Programs | Hitachi Energyhitachienergy.com
Recruitment Process | Hitachi Energy (India)hitachienergy.com
Campus Engage | Careers | L&T Corporatelarsentoubro.com
Careerscesc.co.in
Who Do We Hirecareers.torrentpower.com
Why Torrent Powercareers.torrentpower.com
Where you could Contributecareers.torrentpower.com
Management Trainee | Bengaluru, India | Hitachi Energyhitachienergy.com

Source: Accessed 19 October 2026.

About this resource

Hitachi Energy lists a Global Power+ graduate programme, a South Asia early graduate programme, internships and an India contract trainee posting. L&T and Torrent Power describe campus routes for graduate engineer trainees. CESC lists campus recruitment and the Unmesh internship. Ask your college placement cell first, then check Hitachi Energy's job search. One Hitachi Energy posting, published 12 February 2026, names Electrical & Electronics Engineering, and Hitachi Energy's early-career page lists electrical among the engineering fields it recruits for. The programme and posting lines quoted from the other companies name no branch, and none of the lines quoted names Applied Electronics and Instrumentation. The programmes and postings listed here are not all open to every student; check each row for who can apply.

Frequently asked questions

Who can apply to these programmes?+

Hitachi Energy says Global Power+ is open to candidates with STEM backgrounds, and does not say who qualifies by degree level or graduation year. Its internship text says all majors and does not name India. L&T says it visits India's premier engineering and management institutions to recruit fresh graduate engineers; the page describes this route through campus visits and does not list which campuses. CESC recruits from reputed engineering institutes and Torrent Power lists campus recruitment under engineer graduates. One Hitachi Energy contract trainee posting, published 12 February 2026 and still listed on 19 October 2026, wants Electrical & Electronics Engineering.

How do I apply?+

For L&T, CESC and Torrent Power the pages quoted describe campus recruitment and give no steps to apply for it; ask your college placement cell. CESC's careers page has a Submit Your Resume link but does not say it is for campus recruitment, and CESC warns about fake job adverts. For its jobs in general, Torrent Power says you can apply online by submitting your resume for a specific profile; it does not say trainee places are filled this way. Hitachi Energy's India recruitment page says to open a listing on its open jobs search page and fill in an online application form, which involves uploading your CV or resume. It says a CV or resume is encouraged but not required.

Do the companies say how they select?+

L&T lists an online test of domain knowledge and cognitive aptitude, a personal interview and a medical examination. Hitachi Energy's India recruitment page describes screenings and interviews for all its India hiring, with technical screens or assessments depending on the role. CESC says Unmesh interns who perform well during the internship are extended pre-placement offers to join on completing graduation. It names no selection steps and does not say how to get an internship. Torrent Power names no selection steps.

Are there dates for these programmes?+

Hitachi Energy links to a separate page for Global Power+ application periods and start dates by country. The contract trainee posting on this page was published on 12 February 2026 and was still listed on 19 October 2026; check the listing before you apply. The pages quoted for L&T, CESC and Torrent Power print no dates. These are campus routes, so ask your college placement cell when the company visits.

Want guidance beyond free papers?

Our GATE programmes come with mentor support, 1:1 sessions, and a structured curriculum, not just a PDF.

Browse GATE programmes