IAE Academy
FREE GUIDENEWListed 19 October 2026 · Updated 19 Oct 2026

IT Services Companies: Fresher Hiring

Programmes as TCS, HCLTech, Capgemini, Cognizant and Tech Mahindra listed them on 19 October 2026. TCS says any specialization and HCLTech's AMP says any branch, with marks conditions. TCS registration is closed; this is its 2026 drive.

Updated 19 October 2026

Programmes for students and graduates, as the companies listed them on 19 October 2026

Programmes for students and graduates, as the companies listed them on 19 October 2026
Company and programmeWho can applyWhenHow to apply
TCS: National Qualifier Test (NQT) hiring, Prime, Digital and NinjaOffer condition: if selected, the offer will be valid only if the degree or provisional degree certificate clearly states that the candidate cleared Engineering in 'First-Class' within the stipulated course duration. No pending backlog is allowed when you appear for the selection process. The page names the batches of 2024, 2025 and 2026, with a B.Tech, B.E, M.Tech, M.E, MCA or M.Sc/M.S degree "in any specialization" from an AICTE or UGC recognised university or college. TCS asks for at least 60% aggregate or equivalent CGPA in class 10, class 12, diploma (if applicable), graduation and post-graduation (if applicable). Age 18 to 28 years. The overall academic gap should not exceed 24 months until the highest qualification. Only full-time courses count. Candidates with work experience of up to 2 years can apply.Closed. This is the 2026 drive. The NQT page shows registration as Closed. Registration started on 18 February 2026, the test date is 10 March 2026 onwards and the last date to register is 20 March 2026. The page names the batches of 2024, 2025 and 2026 and no batch after 2026.For the 2026 drive, which is closed: Step 1 is to log in to the TCS NextStep Portal. Step 2 is to register and apply for the drive. If you are already a registered user in the 'IT' category, log in with your TCS Reference ID. If you are a new user, click 'Register Now' and choose the category "IT". It is mandatory to click 'Apply For Drive' to complete your registration. Step 3 is to select the skill you wish to be evaluated on. Step 4 is to select the in-centre mode of test, choose your 3 preferred test centres and click 'Apply'. Step 5 is to select the 3 preferred job cities.
HCLTech: Ascend, Momentum and Polaris (AMP) for fresher engineering graduatesAn engineering degree in any branch. HCLTech lists B.E/B.Tech and M.E/M.Tech. For AMP you need 65% or above throughout academics (class 10, class 12 and graduation) if you apply to Lucknow, Nagpur, Vijayawada or Madurai, and 70% or above for all other locations. The page gives no graduation year. Fresh engineering graduates who meet the criteria are eligible whether hired on-campus or off-campus.Not stated on the source pagesThe page gives no application steps. It says AMP is open on-campus and off-campus to fresh engineering graduates who meet the minimum eligibility criteria.
HCLTech: Elite EngineersThe page gives no eligibility rule beyond describing a career pathway for exceptional engineering talent from leading engineering colleges in the country. It names no branch and no marks.Not stated on the source pagesNot stated on the source pages
Capgemini: Exceller Program for Technical GraduatesDescribed as a flagship program for technical students. Capgemini says it engages with leading engineering institutes and graduate colleges in the country to hire. The page names no branch.Not stated on the source pagesExceller is reached through your college placement team: to be a part of the hiring process, get in touch with them. The Exceller page gives no off-campus route. From Capgemini's general recruitment page, not the Exceller page: a CV is mandatory when you submit an application and a cover letter is optional.
Cognizant: Generation Cognizant (GenC)Described as a hiring and development program for emerging talent in India, from a range of disciplines. Off-campus drives are open to students from all colleges, and each drive is designed for specific streams, roles and batches. The page names none of them and gives no marks.Not stated on the source pagesThe page says to apply through your university's campus recruitment drive or to an open position. To apply for a GenC role you need to submit your resume and academic certificates.
Tech Mahindra: Internship (not a hiring programme)This is an internship, not a hiring programme. The FAQ says that currently Tech Mahindra does not provide a stipend. The page says the best interns will be explored for onboarding as full time associates. The FAQ says the company would prefer technical students. One open position lists "Currently enrolled in a Bachelor's or Master's program in Computer Science, AI/ML, or a related field"; that rule belongs to that one position. For the Innovation area, students can do in-house internships at the Pune, Hyderabad, Bangalore and Noida locations.The FAQ says to plan your internship 3-4 weeks before the starting date. It says the onboarding process typically takes 2 weeks from building your profile to getting the welcome mail.The candidate creates a profile and shares the relevant documents (Resume and NOC). The page says onboarding starts with the offer letter being uploaded in the system for the interns. The FAQ says to apply for one internship at a time.

Source: Each company's own careers pages, listed under Sources.

Skills and roles named on the programme pages

Skills and roles named on the programme pages
Company and programmeSkills named
HCLTech: Elite EngineersThe page says selected graduates bring advanced skills spanning AI, Semiconductor and Silicon, Data Engineering, Physical AI and Robotics and Quantum. It lists no skills that applicants must have.
Tech Mahindra: Internship (not a hiring programme)Among the open positions, one asks for a basic understanding of machine learning concepts and natural language processing, and familiarity with version control systems (e.g., Git). The other asks for familiarity with NLP fundamentals and a good understanding of Neural Networks and their working principles.

Source: Each company's own careers pages, listed under Sources.

How each company says it selects

How each company says it selects
CompanyWhat the company says
Tata Consultancy Services (TCS)The NQT is conducted in TCS iON Centers. It is an integrated test of 190 minutes duration with two sections, Foundation and Advanced. All are encouraged to attempt both sections, and the Advanced section is mandatory if you aspire for a Digital or Prime offer. Based on test performance, candidates qualify for Prime, Digital or Ninja interviews. You need your original academic documents at the interview, if you are shortlisted.
HCLTech (AMP)The Ascend test for AMP has three stages. First, a cognitive test (numerical, verbal, reasoning) of about 90 minutes. Second, a coding or technical test of 60 to 90 minutes. Third, a Versant test of English speaking and listening, where a score of 46-56 (B1 level) is required to qualify. The page does not say which score within that range applies. Only candidates who clear the cognitive and coding tests go to the Versant test. After it, candidates move to technical and HR interviews. The top 10% of candidates who clear the Ascend assessment are evaluated further through additional interviews, hackathons or technical tests.
Capgemini (general fresher recruitment page, not Exceller)Capgemini's general recruitment page, not the Exceller page, says the process for fresh graduates typically involves five stages: an online aptitude test, a coding or technical assessment, a group discussion (for select roles), a technical interview and an HR interview. Candidates who clear all rounds receive a formal offer. Background verification begins on acceptance. The page says Capgemini does not ask candidates to pay any fees at any stage of hiring.
CognizantThe page lists five steps. Step 1 is your application. Step 2 is initial screening: if a recruiter sees a fit, they reach out via your placement officer or your registered email. Step 3 is assessments: depending on the role, one or more that evaluate communication skills, aptitude and/or technical skills. Step 4 is interviews: if you clear the assessments, you are invited to meet the hiring team virtually or in person. Step 5 is the result, shared with your placement officer for campus hiring or with you for off-campus hiring.
Tech Mahindra (internships)The shortlisted interns have to clear the mandated assessments before the offer is rolled out to them. The page says that at Tech Mahindra the best interns will be explored for onboarding as full time associates.

Source: Each company's own careers pages, listed under Sources.

Sources

Sources
SourceLink
TCS All India NQT Hiring Batch of 2024, 2025 and 2026tcs.com
Campus Hiring & Recruitment : Supercharge Your Tech Career | HCLTechhcltech.com
Technical graduates | Capgemini Indiacapgemini.com
Recruitment process | Capgemini Indiacapgemini.com
Generation Cognizant (GenC) Program | Cognizant Careerscareers.cognizant.com
Student and new graduate programs | Cognizant India | Cognizant Careerscareers.cognizant.com
FAQsinternship.techmahindra.com
Open Positionsinternship.techmahindra.com
Application Processinternship.techmahindra.com
Internship @ Tech Mahindra (home)internship.techmahindra.com

Source: Accessed 19 October 2026.

About this resource

TCS lists its National Qualifier Test with an apply route and a test format; registration is closed and the page names the batches of 2024, 2025 and 2026. HCLTech lists AMP and Elite Engineers. Capgemini lists the Exceller Program, reached through the college placement team, and Cognizant lists GenC. Tech Mahindra lists an internship, not a hiring programme; its FAQ says that currently it pays no stipend.

What's included

  • ✓TCS's National Qualifier Test says a degree in any specialization and HCLTech's AMP says an engineering degree in any branch; each has other conditions, listed in the table. TCS registration is closed. No company's page names ECE, EE or AEIE.

Frequently asked questions

Which branches can apply?+

TCS says a degree in any specialization for its National Qualifier Test, and HCLTech says an engineering degree in any branch for AMP. AMP also asks 65% or 70% throughout academics, by location. HCLTech's page does not say which graduation years. HCLTech's Elite Engineers, Capgemini's Exceller Program and Cognizant's GenC name no branch. Tech Mahindra's FAQ says it would prefer technical students, and one open position lists Computer Science, AI/ML or a related field.

Is the TCS National Qualifier Test open now?+

No. The NQT page shows registration as Closed. It gives 18 February 2026 as the start of registration, 10 March 2026 onwards for the test and 20 March 2026 as the last date to register. This is the 2026 drive for the batches of 2024, 2025 and 2026. The page names no batch after 2026.

How do I apply?+

For its 2026 drive, now closed, TCS says to log in to its NextStep Portal and click Apply For Drive. HCLTech's AMP is open on-campus and off-campus; the page gives no application steps. For Exceller, Capgemini says to get in touch with your college placement team. Cognizant says to apply through your campus drive or to an open position. Tech Mahindra's internship says to create a profile and share your resume and NOC.

How do these companies say they select?+

TCS uses a test at its iON centres, then interviews; the Advanced section is mandatory for a Digital or Prime offer. HCLTech's AMP has a cognitive test, a coding or technical test and a Versant test, then technical and HR interviews. Capgemini's general recruitment page says its process typically has an aptitude test, a coding or technical assessment, interviews and, for select roles, a group discussion. Cognizant lists screening, assessments and interviews. Tech Mahindra says shortlisted interns clear assessments before an offer.

Want guidance beyond free papers?

Our GATE programmes come with mentor support, 1:1 sessions, and a structured curriculum, not just a PDF.

Browse GATE programmes